Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball team Reflects Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The school’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of Division I programs yet to create a Final 4, Xavier has the most all-time tournament wins with 27. Xavier has appeared in the NCAA Championship 27 times, 15 times in the previous 17 years. On March 11, 2018, Xavier made its first ever No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. Additionally, they’ve won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been recorded among the top-20 most precious college basketball programs in the US.
The very first Xavier Basketball match on album was February 20, 1920 in the Fenwick Club in Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year conduct as head coach in 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success lasted under second head coach Clem Crowe. During Crowe’s 10 years since Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a record of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head coach rank fourth all-time among Xavier head coaches. [5]
Following the 1942–43 season, play has been suspended for the following two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program declared under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a record of 3–16.
In 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Under Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) during the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national championship for small colleges. Xavier ended in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University at the nationwide third-place match, 58–59. 1948 was the only year Xavier appeared in the NAIA Tournament.
Back in 1951, Hirt has been replaced as head coach by Ned Wulk. Wulk guided the Musketeers to National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 look marked Xavier’s initial NIT triumph, an 84–80 victory over Saint Louis.
After a loss to Bradley in the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach from Jim McCafferty. McCafferty led the Musketeers back to some third consecutive NIT in 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier seized the NIT. That was the first postseason championship obtained by any Ohio Division I college.
Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier for their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier fell to Morehead State in the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty has been replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be followed by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79).
In 1979, Xavier was one of those charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (known as the MCC or Midwestern City 6, also now known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That year also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, who compiled an 88–86 list during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: indycarracingnews.com